Why am I charged €1/£1/$1 when I sign up for a free trial?

When you sign up for a free trial, Skype authorizes your credit card or PayPal account for the nominal amount of €1/£1/$1 (or similar amount in your currency), to check that the payment method is valid, and so that we can validate the person participating in the promotion. You may also need to verify your credit card using either Verified by Visa or MasterCard SecureCode verification.

Don't worry – you won't actually pay this amount. It's possible that you will see it as a Pending transaction on your bank statement for a couple of days, but as soon as your payment method has been authorized, we cancel the charge.

You can always contact your card issuer for confirmation or to ask for additional information about this transaction.
 

Did this answer your question?

Thank you for your feedback

Did you know you can make video calls with three or more people anywhere in the world with Skype Premium? Find out more.

How else can we help?

You can always ask your question in our community, or if you have some feedback that could help us improve this FAQ, you can leave it below. Learn more about getting support for Skype.

Important: Do not enter any personal information (such as your Skype Name, email address, Microsoft account, password, or real name or phone number) in the field below.

Share this article