Who can see my profile information in Skype for Mac?
The more information you provide in your profile, the easier it is for your friends to find you on Skype. The information you provide can be:
- Public: information that everyone using Skype can see.
- Contacts only: information that only your contacts can see.
- Private: information that only you can see.
To check your profile information, in Skype click your profile picture in the top left.
When your profile opens, click Show profile to display your information.
Your email addresses are only visible to you. No one can see them when looking at your profile – but people who know your email address can use it to search for you in Skype.
By default, your profile picture is visible to everyone. This means it appears in search results when other people try to find you in Skype. You can change this if you only want your contacts to see your profile picture.
To change who can see your profile picture:
- In Skype, click your profile picture in the top left.
- When your profile opens, under your picture, select from:
- Visible to everyone
- Visible to my contacts
You can choose to show your time zone – just toggle the check-box on or off. If you show it, it will be visible only to your contacts.
Number of contacts
You can choose to show how many contacts you have – just toggle the check-box on or off. If you show the number of contacts you have, only your contacts will see this.
You can add up to three phone numbers. Any numbers you add will be visible only to your contacts.
Click Add Mood Message to add a status so your friends know what you’re up to or how you’re feeling. It will be visible only to your contacts.
All other information you add to your profile is visible to everyone on Skype. This includes your user name, location, home page, gender, birthdate, language and About Me section.