How do I update my status settings in Skype for Mac OS X?

Mac

Your status setting lets your contacts know if you’re available to have a conversation. A status icon is displayed next to your profile picture.

The list of your status options displayed after clicking the status icon

Your status is set automatically, but you can change it manually at any time. Just click the status icon and choose one from the list.

Each of your contacts also has their status displayed next to their name in your contact list, so that you know what’s the best way to contact them. Anyone with one of these Online, Away and Do not disturb status icons icons displayed beside their names is on Skype so it's free to call.

If you see these symbols Status icons informing you that your contact is offline but you can call their mobile or landline, it means that the contact is offline, but with a little Skype Credit or a subscription you can call their mobile or landline.

The following table describes the different status icons that you can select for yourself, or that are displayed for your contacts.

Status Description...
Online
Your contacts will see that you are online and available for a conversation.
Away
Your contacts will see that you are signed in to Skype, but away from your computer. Your contacts can still send instant messages and try to call you.
You can set how many minutes the computer must be inactive before the status setting shows as Away. To do this:
  1. Go to Skype > Preferences… and select the General tab.
  2. Tick Set my status to Away after [x] minutes of inactivity, and enter the number of minutes in the field. Make sure you press the Return key to save the changes. 
By default, your status will show you’re Away after 10 minutes of inactivity.
Do Not Disturb
Your contacts will see that you are online but do not wish to be disturbed. Contacts can still instant message and call you, but you won’t be alerted with sound.
Invisible
You will appear offline to all your contacts, but you can still use Skype as usual. It’s a good way to continue using Skype but not be disturbed by instant messages or calls from your contacts.
Offline
You will appear offline to all your contacts, and won’t be able to receive or send instant messages or make or receive calls.
Contact request pending
Appears next to someone if you are waiting for them to accept your contact request. After your friend has accepted your contact request, you can make free calls, video calls and group calls, and send instant messages.
Offline with voice messaging or forwarding calls
Appears next to a contact if they are not available but have set up call forwarding or voice messaging.
Learn how to set up call forwarding or voice messaging.  Calls can be forwarded to a mobile or landline, or even another Skype contact.
Blocked
Appears next to a contact you have blocked.  
Learn how to block or unblock contacts.

Did this answer your question?

Thank you for your feedback

Thank you for your feedback

Thank you for feedback! For further sources of help, you can always search or read answers to questions in our community.

Why has this not helped?

Please let us know why we couldn't help you today

Important: Do not enter any personal information (such as your Skype Name, email address, Microsoft account, password, or real name or phone number) in the field above.

Submit

Share this article