By using this site you agree to the use of cookies for analytics, personalised content and ads. Read more

Help Modern Windows

How do I manage my privacy settings in Skype for Windows RT?

Skype’s privacy settings let you control who can contact you on Skype. You can easily change your privacy settings to prevent nuisance calls or spam messages.

Learn how to block and remove a contact.

Important: If you’re using an anti-virus or firewall application, make sure that you configured them for Skype to run.

If you need to, you can easily change the language of Skype for Windows RT.

Control who can contact you on Skype

It’s easy to manage who can call or instant message you on Skype:

  1. Start Skype.
  2. In Skype Home, move the mouse to the bottom right corner or swipe from right to bring up the charms.

Skype Home screen

  1. From the charms, select Settings > Options.

Options selected under Settings

  1. In the Options window, under Privacy, select the drop-down menu next to Who can call you?, then choose Everyone or Only my contacts.
  2. Click the drop-down menu next to Who can send you instant messages?, then select Everyone or Only my contacts.

Privacy section selected under Options, where you can change your settings to control who can contact you on Skype.

If you want to appear as offline to your contacts when you start Skype next time, you can set your status to invisible before you close Skype or turn your PC off.

Control who can send you video and share their screen with you

In the Options window, under Video, select the drop-down menu next to Incoming video and screen sharing, then select Start automatically or Ask.

Video section selected under Options

Learn how to troubleshoot problems with your camera.

Control incoming calls

You can also easily change your incoming call settings:

  1. In Options, go to Calls.
  2. Next to Answer incoming calls automatically, move the slider to Yes or No.
  3. Next to Turn on video automatically, move the slider to Yes or No.

Calls section selected under Options

If you want to make sure that you won’t miss any calls or want to be notified about the instant messages you receive, you can enable Skype notifications. Learn more.

Delete conversation history

Your conversation history is stored on Skype's cloud for 30 days; however, you can set your computer to save your chat history for longer, if you want. Or you can delete your entire conversation history from your device if you’d like to:

In Options, next to Clear all conversation history, select the clear history button.

Your conversation history will be deleted after you restart Skype. To do so, press the Alt+F4 key combination on your keyboard or swipe from the top edge of the screen to close Skype and start it again.

Important: When you delete your conversation history, it’s not possible to restore it. Deleting the conversation history removes video messages.

You can find more privacy and profile settings in your Skype Account page. Learn how to manage your account.

To learn more about your online security, safety and privacy, visit our security center.

Learn more about your online privacy and security.

Was this article helpful?

Yes No

Why has this not helped?

It did not solve my problem
The answer was confusing/too much to read
The answer was not relevant
Other

Please let us know why we couldn't help you today

Important: Do not enter any personal information (such as your Skype Name, email address, Microsoft account, password, or real name or phone number) in the field above.

Thank you for your feedback

Thank you for your feedback Thank you for feedback! For further sources of help, you can always search or read answers to questions in our community. Visit the community

Ask the Community

See what people are saying about "Security and blocked accounts" in the Skype Community.

Join the conversation

Still need help? Our support team is waiting to help you. Ask them now