Why am I being asked to accept that my contacts are stored securely by Skype after updating Skype on my iPhone or iPad?

If you updated Skype on your iPhone or iPad and are signing in for the first time since the update, you will receive an alert asking you to store your contacts.

This alert is there to make sure you’re aware of how we store your contacts. Nothing has changed in how Skype stores your information. We save your contacts on our servers so that you can access the same Skype contacts on any device that has a version of Skype installed. To continue using Skype as you always have done, simply accept the alert.

Remember, this only concerns your Skype contacts, not the contacts in your iOS address book. 

Did this answer your question?

Thank you for your feedback

Did you know you can make video calls with three or more people anywhere in the world with Skype Premium? Find out more.

How else can we help?

You can always ask your question in our community, or if you have some feedback that could help us improve this FAQ, you can leave it below. Learn more about getting support for Skype.

Important: Do not enter any personal information (such as your Skype Name, email address, Microsoft account, password, or real name or phone number) in the field below.

Share this article