Skype is one of a range of consumer services that is accessed through a Microsoft account. It is not possible to separate your Skype profile from your Microsoft account.
If you close your Microsoft account, in addition to not being able to sign in to or access Skype, you'll no longer be able to sign in to other Microsoft consumer products or services such as Outlook.com, Office Online, OneDrive, Xbox Live, or Windows.
Before you close your Microsoft account, let's make sure you aren't leaving anything important relating to Skype behind:
- Sign in to Skype.
- Follow the steps in this article to verify that:
- Important information such as files and contacts are saved.
- Your Skype Credit balance has been used. Once your account is closed, you can't get it back.
- Active subscriptions have been cancelled so you don’t continue to get charged. If you have Auto-recharge enabled and cancel your account without first cancelling your subscription, you will continue to be charged until your account has been permanently closed in 60 days. Learn how to disable Auto-recharge.
You can close your Microsoft account by following these steps:
- Go to our Microsoft account closure page. You may be prompted to sign in or verify your password.
- Make sure you are signed in to the Microsoft account you want to close and select Next.
- In the Select a reason drop-down list, choose the reason you're closing the account.
- Select Mark account for closure.
- Your Microsoft account will be closed in 60 days. We wait 60 days before permanently deleting accounts in case you change your mind or need to access something before it's gone. You can change your mind any time during the 60 days, just sign in to cancel the closure.
When you close your Microsoft account, we wait 60 days before permanently deleting it. During this waiting period, your account is marked for closure, but still exists. You can control whether your Skype profile is visible in the search directory results or suggestions. Learn more about how to opt out of Skype search directory results or suggestions in your mobile or desktop privacy settings.
Sign in to your Microsoft account within 60 days of closing it. We'll cancel the closure, and everything will be just as you left it. If it's been longer than 60 days, we can't retrieve an account that has been deleted.
If it's been longer than 60 days, we can't retrieve an account that has been deleted.
Ready to learn more?
Where can I get a refund?
How do I cancel or change my Skype subscription?
How to close your Microsoft account