Skype is one of a range of consumer services that is accessed through a Microsoft account. It is not possible to separate your Skype profile from your Microsoft account. If you close your Microsoft account, in addition to not being able to sign in to or access Skype, you'll no longer be able to sign in to other Microsoft consumer products or services such as Outlook.com, Office Online, OneDrive, or Windows.
Before you close your Microsoft account, let's make sure you aren't leaving anything important relating to Skype behind:
- Sign in to Skype.
- Follow the steps in this article to verify that:
- Important information such as files and contacts are saved.
- Your Skype Credit balance has been used. Once your account is closed, you can't get it back.
- Active subscriptions have been cancelled so you don’t continue to get charged. If you have Auto-recharge enabled and cancel your account without first cancelling your subscription, you will continue to be charged until your account has been permanently closed in 60 days. Learn how to disable Auto-recharge.
You can close your Microsoft account by following these steps:
- Go to our Microsoft account closure page.
- If you're prompted to sign in and/or verify your account, follow the instructions.
- Check that the page shows the correct Microsoft account, and then click Next.
- Read the list and click the checkboxes to acknowledge you’ve read each item.
- Choose to have the re-open window set to 30 or 60 days.
- In the Select a reason drop-down list, choose the reason why you're closing the account.
- Select Mark account for closure.
- Your Microsoft account will be closed after the re-open window is over. We wait the chosen number of days before permanently deleting accounts in case you change your mind or need to access something before it's gone. You can change your mind any time during the re-open period, just sign in to cancel the closure.
When you close your Microsoft account, we wait for the chosen number of days (30 or 60) before permanently deleting it. During this re-open period, your account is marked for closure but still exists. You can control whether your Skype profile is visible in the search directory results or suggestions. Learn more about how to opt out of Skype search directory results or suggestions in your mobile or desktop privacy settings.
Sign into your Microsoft account within the chosen waiting period (30 or 60 days) and we will cancel the closure, and everything will be just as you left it. If it is outside of the re-open period, then we can't retrieve an account that has been deleted.
If it has been longer than the chosen waiting period (30 or 60 days), we cannot retrieve an account that has been deleted.
Ready to learn more?
Where can I get a refund?
How do I cancel or change my Skype subscription?
How to close your Microsoft account