Help Windows Desktop

What happens to my chat history when I upgrade to Skype for Windows desktop?

Your chat history for the last 30 days is saved to the cloud, so you’ll see it when you sign into Skype from another device or platform.

Conversations older than 30 days will be lost when you upgrade. If you want to keep a particular conversation, you’ll need to copy and paste it into a document before you upgrade.

To save a conversation older than 30 days:

  1. Find the chat you want to save.
  2. Select the text: left click or touch inside the chat and hold, then scroll up to the top of the chat. Text is selected as you scroll.
  3. When you’ve selected as much as you want, release the mouse button/screen, right click, and select Copy.
  4. Open a document (Microsoft Word, Notepad or similar), right click, and select Paste.
  5. Save the document.

Was this article helpful?

Yes No

Please let us know why we couldn't help you today

Important : Do not enter any personal information (such as your Skype Name, email address, Microsoft account, password, or real name or phone number) in the field above.

Ask the Community

See what people are saying about "Instant messaging and SMS" in the Skype Community.

Join the conversation

Still need help? Our support team is waiting to help you. Ask them now