How do I create and share a new conversation in Skype for Windows Desktop?
If you're using Skype for Windows desktop 7.7 or above, you can create and share conversations with your friends, or anyone, even if they're not on Skype. Download the latest version here.
- Click the +New icon under your profile picture.
- Type the name of a contact you want to add.
- When you find a contact you want to add, click it, then click Add.
- Repeat this process for as many contacts as you wish to add to the conversation. If you want to carry on your existing conversation, you don't need to create a new one - just jump into the existing conversation with that person.
- You can copy the link for others you want to add to the conversation, even if they're not on Skype, by clicking copy link (either on the add contacts screen or on the confirmation screen after you set up the conversation, as below). If they're not on Skype, they can join as a guest user, and as the administrator, you can remove them from the conversation as needed. You can also choose to email an invitation to anyone by clicking email.
- From the confirmation screen, you can click the Settings button to access the conversation profile.
- You can also click the Rename conversation button if you want to rename the conversation.
- To access the conversation profile if you're not in the confirmation screen; click the group avatar to the left of the group name at the top of the conversation window.
There are several settings you can customize in the conversation profile:
- You can tap the conversation title to change it.
- You can change the group avatar by selecting Change Picture, and upload an image from your computer.
- You can disable conversation notifications by unchecking Notify me when something new happens.
- You can Make chat history available to everyone by checking the box. Anyone joining the group chat will be able to see the conversation history.
- By default, your conversation is open for anyone to join who has the link. You can prevent people joining your chat by unchecking the box Make a link for anyone to join. Anyone who is already in your conversation will remain in your chat.
Wondering what to do next? Check out these guides: