Skype Help

    How do I remove an instant message or clear a conversation in Skype?

    Back to search results


    In Skype you can remove an instant message you've sent in a chat, delete a one-to-one conversation, or clear a group conversation.

    1. Go to the chat.
    2. Find the instant message you want to remove.
    3. To remove the message:
      • On mobile: Tap and hold the message, then select Remove.
      • On desktop: Right-click the message, then select Remove.
    4. Select Remove again to confirm.


    Note: If you remove an instant message that you sent, it's removed for everyone in a chat, and nobody will see it in that chat. You can only remove an instant message that you've sent, you can't remove an instant message someone else has sent in a chat. Also, system messages cannot be deleted, like the one sent to a conversation when it is renamed. 
     

    To delete a one-to-one conversation:

    1. From the Chats tab, find the one-to-one chat.
    2. To delete the chat: 
      • On mobile: Tap and hold the chat, then tap Delete conversation.
      • On desktop: Right-click the chat, then select Delete conversation.
    3. Select Delete again to confirm.


    Note: Deleting a conversation deletes your copy of messages in a conversation. It will only be deleted for you and not the other participant.


    To clear a group conversation:

    1. From the Chats tab, find the group chat.
    2. To clear the chat:
      • On mobile: Tap and hold the group chat, then select Clear conversation.
      • On desktop: Right-click the group chat, then select Clear conversation.
    3. Select Confirm to clear the conversation.


    Note: Clearing a conversation clears your copy of messages in a conversation. It will only be cleared for you and not for the other participants.
     

    1. From the Chats tab, find the group chat.
    2. To leave the chat:
      • On mobile: Tap and hold the chat, then select Leave conversation.
      • On desktop: Right-click the chat, then select Leave conversation.
    3. Select Confirm to leave the conversation.


    Note: Leaving a conversation clears your copy of messages in a conversation and removes the conversation from your chat list. If you rejoin the conversation, you will be able to view conversation history from the moment you left or from the moment you re-joined it depending on the chat history setting.


    Learn more about how to hide a chat in Skype.