Skype Help

    How do I remove an instant message or delete a chat in Skype?

    Back to search results

    To remove an instant message:


    On mobile: Tap and hold the message, then select Remove.

    On desktop: Right-click the message and select Remove.

    Note: If you remove an instant message that you sent, it's removed for everyone in a chat and nobody will see it in that chat. You can only remove an instant message that you've sent, you can't remove an instant message someone else has sent in a chat.
     

    To delete a chat:


    On mobile: Tap and hold on a conversation in your chat list, then select Delete conversation.

    On desktop: Right-click on a conversation in your chat list, then select Delete conversation.

    Note: Deleting a conversation clears your copy of messages in a conversation and also removes the conversation from your chat list. If you start a new conversation with someone, where the conversation was previously deleted you won’t be able to see the conversation history.
     

    To leave a chat:

    On mobile: Tap and hold on a conversation in your chat list, then select Leave group.

    On desktop: Right-click on a conversation in your chat list, then select Leave group.

    Note: Leaving a group conversation clears your copy of messages in a conversation and also removes the conversation from your chat list. If you rejoin the conversation, you will be able to see full conversation history again or from the moment you re-joined it depending on the chat history setting.



    How do I hide a chat in Skype? Learn more.