Help Skype Preview for Windows 10

How do I start a group instant message in Skype Preview for Windows 10?

A group conversation allows you to send instant messages to two or more contacts simultaneously. You can do this by either creating a group from scratch, or by adding contacts to an existing conversation.

Any time a member of the group sends an instant message, it will be received by all the participants, allowing multiple contacts to chat and share files with each other, all at the same time. It’s a perfect tool for keeping track of group projects with co-workers or planning events with family or friends.

To create a group:

  1. In the Recent Conversation tab, select  to Create a new conversation that anyone can join.
  2. Add people to the conversation from the contact list on the right of the conversation window. Either select the contact you want to add or use the search field.
  3. Select all the contacts you'd like to join your group, then select Start.

This creates your group. Simply type and send your first instant message and it will be sent to all members of the group

To add contacts to a conversation:

  1. Sign in to Skype Preview.
  2. From the Recent tab, select the conversation you’d like to add new contacts to.
  3. Select the  More button to either create a new group in a one-to-one chat or add people to an existing group chat.
  4. Select the contacts you would like to add to the conversation. When you have finished, select the Add button to start your group chat.

Important: If the chat window displays a message that a particular contact won’t be able to participate in the group chat until they upgrade Skype, please inform them by sending a separate 1-to-1 instant message to upgrade at, or send them here for more information on cloud-based group chats. 

When you create a group or add contacts to an IM conversation, it will only be stored in the Recent tab. If you would like a group to be stored in your contact list as well, right-click the conversation and select Add to Favorites. The group conversation will show at the top under Favorites

Select either the  More button at the top right of the window or the group name at the top of the conversation window.

There are several things you can customize in the conversation profile:

  • Select the conversation title to change it. 
  • Disable conversation notifications by unchecking Notify me when something new happens.
  • Make chat history available to everyone by switching the toggle On. Anyone joining the group chat will be able to see the conversation history.
  • By default, your conversation is open for anyone to join who has the link. You can prevent people joining your chat by switching the toggle to Off under Make a link for anyone to join. Anyone who is already in your conversation will remain in your chat.

To leave a group conversation:

  1. Sign in to Skype Preview.
  2. On the Recent tab, find the group conversation you would like to leave and right-click it.
  3. Select Leave Conversation, then in the confirmation window, select Leave.

Alternatively, you can type /leave into the text box of the group conversation you would like to leave and press Enter.

Was this article helpful?

Yes No

Please let us know why we couldn't help you today

Important : Do not enter any personal information (such as your Skype Name, email address, Microsoft account, password, or real name or phone number) in the field above.

Ask the Community

See what people are saying about "Instant messaging and SMS" in the Skype Community.

Join the conversation

Still need help? Our support team is waiting to help you. Ask them now