Help Windows Desktop

What is Skype Web Control?

Skype Web Control is a fast way for website visitors to communicate directly with a company representative in real-time right on the businesses website. It appears as a chat box on their website and is extremely fast and simple. The website owner decides who is on the other end of the chat - it could be the owner themselves, someone else from their business, or even a bot that provides intelligent responses to questions. 


Get Skype Web control for your site
 

Just click on the chat icon and start typing!

If you're signed in on Skype for Web, then you'll be automatically signed in to Skype Web Control. If you're signed out of Skype Web Control then you're also signed out of Skype for Web. 

No, but if you have a Skype account and you're signed in with your existing Skype Name or Microsoft account, you will see your Skype Web Control conversations across all your Skype clients on all your devices. 

You can send messages, pictures, and files. We're keeping things simple so you can't send emoticons yet. 

To send attachments, select the attachment icon and then choose a file to send.

A Skype user's avatar is a circle while bots and business' avatars are hexagons. 

Yes. When you sign in to Skype on any app or device you'll see your conversation history from Skype Web Control messages. 

The last 30 days of your conversation history is always stored in the cloud, though guest user's conversations are only visible for 24 hours. If you want to keep your conversations longer or store them on your hard drive, you'll need to sign in on Windows desktop or Mac. Once you set up your history options, your settings will sync and persist across any other device. 

  • on Mac: Go to Skype > Preferences > Privacy. Then use the Save chat history drop-down to specify how long messages should be kept. 
  • on Windows desktop: Go to Tools > Options > IM & SMS > Show advanced options. Then use the Keep history for drop-down to specify how long messages should be kept. 

Select the sign in button before you start chatting. The person or bot you're chatting with will be automatically added to your contacts. 

Calls are not yet supported. 

Sign out of Skype Web control by selecting your name at the beginning of your conversation, and then selecting the sign out button. You'll still be able to instant message, but those messages will no longer be visible in your other Skype clients and are not saved.


Ready to learn more?
Protecting your online safety, security, and privacy

Was this article helpful?

Yes No

Please let us know why we couldn't help you today

Important : Do not enter any personal information (such as your Skype Name, email address, Microsoft account, password, or real name or phone number) in the field above.