Skype Help

    What happens if I opt out of Skype search?

    Back to search results

    Skype search gives you the ability to find your friends and connect on Skype. 

    You can opt out of Skype search at any time in your mobile or desktop privacy settings. However, opting out of Skype search will prevent people you've never chatted with before from being able to find you unless you contact them directly. 

    Things to keep in mind

    • If someone has you saved in their device contacts, they may still be able to contact you on Skype.
    • If you opt out, you can still share your profile and invite others to connect with you on Skype.
    • If you change your visibility settings in the latest version of Skype, older versions may no longer accurately display whether you are opted out of search. Please update to the latest version of Skype or go to your Skype Profile on the web to get the most accurate view of your Settings.