Did you know?
Only one participant needs a Skype Premium account for group video calls.
Before changing the SIP Profile’s password, remember that it’s used by your PBX to connect to Skype. When you change the password, your PBX will not be automatically disconnected by Skype but the new password should be updated in the PBX’s configuration before next time the PBX needs to re-register with Skype.
If the new password is not updated, your PBX will be unable to connect to Skype the next time that it tries to re-register, resulting in the loss of outbound calling. Inbound calls will also not be received in your SIP-enabled PBX unless the password is updated in your PBX.
The frequency with which your SIP-enabled PBX will re-register is determined by whether your SIP-enabled PBX is behind a Firewall or NAT (45 seconds) or whether it connected directly to the Internet (3600 seconds).
We recommend that SIP Profile password changes are coordinated with or by your IT department, or by whoever is responsible for the administration of your PBX equipment. We also recommend that you change your password and credentials in your SIP-enabled PBX at an off-peak time for your business, so to avoid any potential interruption of Skype Connect™.
To change a SIP Profile's password:
Learn more about configuring Skype Connect.